Corporate governance

In Guinness Nigeria Plc, our actions and interactions with our consumers, customers, employees, government officials, suppliers, shareholders and other stakeholders reflect our values, beliefs and principles.

Corporate Governance

Our business is largely self-regulated and we pride ourselves as leading our peers in the industry and Nigeria in this regard. In addition to self-regulation at standards often above the minimum legal or regulatory requirements, we are committed to conducting business in line with best practice, in accordance with applicable laws and regulations in Nigeria, in line with the requirements of the Nigerian Stock Exchange as well as in compliance with the Code of Corporate Governance in Nigeria.

To further sustain our commitment to ethical business standards, values of integrity, honesty and fairness, as well as good corporate governance, Guinness Nigeria Plc signed up to the Convention on Business Integrity in September 2011. The Board and the Company also participated fully in and successfully completed all the requirements for certification on the Corporate Governance Rating System (CGRS) implemented by the Nigerian Stock Exchange. The Company has thus made significant progress on the path to being listed on the NSE Premium Board.

Board committees' terms of reference

The Board has established committees, each with clearly defined terms of reference, procedures, responsibilities and powers.

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

The Finance and Risk Committee is chaired by Bismarck Rewane. The Committee consists exclusively of non-executive directors selected to provide a wide range of financial, commercial and international experience:

Bismarck Rewane (Chairman)

Omobola Johnson (Vice Chairman)

Ngozi Edozien

Leo Breen

Zainab Abdurrahman

Nomination, Governance and Remuneration Committee

The Governance Committee is chaired by John O'Keeffe and comprises of the following members:

John O'Keeffe (Chairman)

Amb. Sunday Dogonyaro, OON (Vice Chairman)

Dr. Omobola Johnson

Professor Fabian Ajogwu SAN

Statutory Audit Committee

The Statutory Audit Committee is chaired by Mazi Nnamdi Okwuadigbo and comprises of the following members:

Mazi Nnamdi Okwuadigbo

Moses Igbrude (Shareholder Representative)

George Ibhade (Shareholder Representative)

Zainab Abdurrahman (Director)

Leo Breen (Director)

Yemisi Ayeni (Director)